Conservation Captains

Recreational Fishing Guides are of major importance to Bonefish & Tarpon Trust.  Since they are on the water most days of the year, they are the eyes and ears of conservation of bonefish, tarpon, and permit fisheries.  They are the first observers and can be the first line of defense for the resource. Guides are also the ones who interact with recreational anglers the most, giving them the power to set a positive example through good stewardship. Our Conservation Captain Program is reserved for those who support BTT and our mission. If you are considering a trip to fish for one of our beloved flats species, we ask that you please consider the following guides in your search.

If you are a captain and would like to be part of the Conservation Captain Program, click here.

Conservation Captain Of The Month: January 2015

JamieAllenThe Conservation Captain for January 2015 is Boca Grande guide Capt. Jamie Allen. Jamie’s love of fishing began when he was just a boy growing up in Vermont, a passion that would continue his entire life. Leaving New England he ventured out to San Diego and Colorado, before settling in Southwest Florida.  He’s been guiding out of Boca Grande, in Charlotte Harbor and Pine Island Sound since 2001, mainly for tarpon, snook and redfish. He is a Pro staffer for Scott Rods, Nautilus Reels, and he is also a FFF certified casting instructor.

For photos and some great videos, check out his website:


Click here to learn more about Capt. Jamie Allen.




Jamie Allen - Boca Grande, FL

Carl Ball - Ft. Lauderdale, Miami & Biscayne Bay

Wes Bedell - Naples, FL

Richard Black - Florida Keys

Bill Blanton - Everglades, Ten Thousand Islands

Bob Branham - Key Biscayne

Will Benson - Florida Keys

Ryan Booth - South Florida

Martin Carranza - Florida Keys

Bruce Chard - Florida Keys

Mike Conner - Stuart, FL

Jeffrey Cooke – Western Michigan

Luis Cortes – Florida Keys

Scott Crippen – Fort Pierce, FL

Tim Cutting - Coastal Georgia

Dave Denkert - Florida Keys

Kenneth Dodd – Darien, GA

Cole Fairbanks - Boca Grande, FL

Steve Friedman - Islamorada, Florida Keys

Peter Frezza - Florida Keys

Mark Giacobba - South Florida

Joe Gonzalez - Biscayne Bay, Upper Keys

Rick Grassett - Sarasota, FL

Kevin Guerin - Florida Keys

Michael Guerin - Montana

Eric Herstedt - South Florida

Travis Holeman - Florida, Louisiana, Texas

Mike Holliday - Stuart, FL

Kyle Holt - Colorado

Alan Jackson - Hilton Head, SC

Richard Keating – Florida Keys

Honson Lau - South Florida

Tommy Locke - Boca Grande, FL

David Mangum - Florida Panhandle

Mike Manis - Charlotte Harbor, FL

Chris McCreedy - Lower Florida Keys

Kevin Mihailoff - Florida Everglades

Chris Morrison - Florida Keys

Gabe Nyblad - Lower Florida Keys

Mike O'Brien - Key West, FL

John O'Hearn - Key West, FL

Randy Osteen - Upper Keys, Biscayne Bay

Randy Parchment - Cayman Islands

Matt Ponzio - Ft. Myers, FL

Justin Rea - Key West, FL

Chris Robinson - Apalachicola, FL

Steve Roff - Georgetown, SC

Derek Rust - Florida Keys

Tom Shadley – Naples, FL

Dexter Simmons - Key West, FL

Alan Skrobarcek - Rockport, TX

Joe Skrumbellos - South Florida

Shane Smith - Colorado & Key West, FL

Tucker Strickland - Carrabelle, FL / New Orleans, LA

Andy Thompson - Florida Keys

Bruddy Tyson - Vero Beach, FL

Earle Waters - Homosassa, FL

Newman Weaver - Georgetown, SC

Dave Wyss - Northern Michigan & Key Largo, FL

Skip Zink - Boca Grande, FL

The Bahamas

Abaco Fly Fishing Guides Association - Abaco

Jody Albury - Central Abaco

Tom Albury - Abaco

Paul Pinder - Abaco


Matthieu Cosson - Desroches